Technical Dossier Evaluation on Drugs
Introduction
Technical Dossier Review of Drugs
The Center for Drug Evaluation (CDE) is commissioned by the Ministry of Health and Welfare (MOHW) and the Taiwan Food and Drug Administration (TFDA) to assist in pre- and post-market technical dossier review of medicinal products.
  • Pre-market Evaluation

    The primary purpose of pre-market review is to evaluate whether the technical dossier submitted by an applicant is sufficient to justify the safety, efficacy and quality of a drug. The pre-market review includes the clinical protocol review, the bridging study evaluation and the application for drug marketing approval. Applications for marketing approval include the following types: New Drug Application (NDA), Abbreviated New Drug Application (ANDA) for generic drugs and Over-the-Counter Application (OTC). Furthermore, with a view to increasing the quality control of active pharmaceutical ingredients (APIs) used in drug products, the CDE also supports the TFDA in reviewing the technical dossier of Drug Master File (DMF).
    The Clinical Protocol Review primarily focuses on ensuring that a clinical trial is well designed and experimental drug is of good quality control. Adequate safety monitoring and protective measures are in place to protect the trial subjects’ rights and interests.
    The Bridging Study Evaluation is to evaluate whether foreign clinical trial data can be extrapolated to the corresponding population in Taiwan so as to justify the administration and dosage of a drug prescribed to the people in Taiwan. This assessment is carried out through evaluating pharmacokinetics (PK)/ pharmacodynamics (PD) data and data of efficacy and safety in the context of a comparison between Asian and non-Asian ethnic groups.
    The technical dossier review for a New Drug Application (NDA) focuses on the followings: (1) To assess whether the chemistry, manufacturing and controls (CMC) data is sufficient to demonstrate adequate control over the quality of APIs and drug products, as well as to exhibit stable quality consistency among different batches. (2) To assess whether the animal pharmacological and toxicological data is sufficient to justify the action mechanism of a drug and to fully evaluate potential toxic reactions. (3) To understand the fundamental pharmacokinetics (PK)/ pharmacodynamics (PD) properties of a drug based on the study of PK/PD data on animals and humans, and to justify the adjustment of the administration and dosage of a drug for the use in special populations or in concomitant with other drugs through analyzing the PK data on this particular group and the data of drug interaction.(4) To assess whether the human clinical trial results are able to demonstrate that a drug is acceptably safe and credibly effective for the claimed indications and to justify the claimed administration and dosage of the drug.
    The technical dossier review for generic product application focuses on the followings: (1) To assess whether the chemistry, manufacturing and controls (CMC) data is able to demonstrate that a generic drug and its reference product are identical in quality, as well as to exhibit good quality control over drug substances and drug products and to exhibit stable quality consistency between different batches;(2) To assess whether the data of bioequivalence (BE) study is able to demonstrate the bioequivalence between a generic drug and its reference product in order to justify that the generic drug has equivalent efficacy and safety to its reference product.
    Since the efficacy and safety of the active ingredients of OCT drugs (such as: antitussives and expectorants, insect repellents, ophthalmic preparations, anti-nausea agents, general dermatological agents for external use, anti-allergic agents, general cold relief, gastrointestinal agents, laxatives, and antipyretic analgesics) have already been proved and established, the technical dossier review of an OTC drug application focuses on whether the chemistry, manufacturing and controls (CMC) data is able to demonstrate adequate quality control over the drug products and to exhibit stable quality consistency between different batches.
    The technical dossier review of a Drug Master File (DMF) focuses on the manufacturing process control, as well as the APIs’ quality properties, especially about identification, content purity and safety related characteristics are able to justify the quality, safety and efficacy of a drug.

  • Post-approval Change

    After a drug is approved for marketing, any variations of the approved items are subject to the application for post-approval changes. The CDE assists the TFDA in performing the technical dossier review on applications of post-approval changes of package insert, indication, administration and dosage, drug category, manufacturing site, dosage form, specification and analytical method, excipients, direct packaging materials, etc., for those technical part may be involved.
    The focus of the review of post-approval changes depends on the contents of the applications. Generally speaking, for changes in indications or administration and dosage, the review focuses on whether the clinical trial data is sufficient to support the intended changes. For changes in manufacturing process, manufacturing site or excipients, the review focuses on whether the drug remains consistent in quality, demonstrates bioequivalence, or has similar in-vitro dissolution curves before and after the changes. For changes in specification and analytical methods, the review emphasizes on whether the basis supporting such changes is justifiable and whether such changes can still ensure the quality control of the drug. The review of post-approval changes of non-prescription drugs is mainly about the changes in indications, administration and dosage, packaging types, drug category and the contents of package inserts.

  • A Description of the Review Process

    Applications should be filed via the contact window of the Division of Medicinal Products of the TFDA. Upon the CDE’s receipt of an application, an administrative reviewer will be appointed to take charge of the administration and the management of this case. A review team will be formed for each case. Depending on the type of the application, a review team may consist of experts in chemistry, manufacturing and controls (CMC), pharmacology/ toxicology, pharmacokinetics (PK)/ pharmacodynamics (PD), statistics, and medicine. The administrative reviewer shall follow the SOP to convene review team meetings. The team leader will conduct the meeting to discuss the technical dossiers and draw conclusions to complete the review report. If deemed necessary, the review report may be submitted to the Drug Advisory Committee for discussion. The administrative reviewer in charge of the case will put together the CDE final review report and the Drug Advisory Committee’s recommendations, and submit the results for government officials’ approval and instructions.

藥品審查

提供藥品技術性資料評估,以確保用藥的品質、安全與療效。

簡介
藥品技術性資料審查
  財團法人醫藥品查驗中心接受衛生福利部及衛生褔利部食品藥物管理署委託,協助進行藥品上市前與上市後相關的技術性資料評估。
  • 藥品上市前之查驗登記審查

      藥品查驗登記的審查重點,在評估藥品技術性資料是否足以支持該藥品的安全性、有效性與品質。新藥上市前的查驗登記審查,包含了臨床試驗階段的試驗計畫書審查,銜接性試驗評估與申請上市的藥品查驗登記。其中藥品查驗登記又可分為,新藥查驗登記審查、學名藥查驗登記審查,及符合指示藥品基準之藥品查驗登記審查。此外,為提升國內製劑使用的原料藥品質管理,本中心亦協助衛生福利部食品藥物管理署進行原料藥主檔案之技術性資料評估。
      臨床試驗計畫書審查時,主要著重於確保受試者參與試驗設計良好的臨床試驗,使用具有品質管控的藥品,試驗的過程中,能有足夠的安全性監測與保護措施,以保障受試者的權益。
      銜接性試驗評估乃藉由藥品之藥動/藥效學或療效、安全資訊,輔以比較亞洲族群與非亞洲族群的數據,評估國外臨床試驗數據是否能外推至我國相關族群,以利評估我國病患之用法用量的合理性。
      新藥查驗登記的技術性資料評估重點著重於(1)化學、製造與管制的資料能顯示藥品的原料藥與製劑品質有良好的控管,於不同批次之間,具有穩定的品質一致性;(2)動物的藥理與毒理資料能支持藥品的作用機制,可完整評估可能的潛在毒性反應;(3)由動物與人體的藥動/藥效學資料可了解藥品基本藥動/藥效學特性,且由藥品於特殊族群的藥動學資訊,與其他藥品的交互作用資訊,有利於評估藥品的於特殊族群及與其他藥品合併使用時,用法用量調整的合理性;(4)人體試驗的結果能顯示藥品於宣稱適應症的族群具有可信的療效、與可接受的安全性,以支持宣稱用法用量的合理性。
      學名藥查驗登記的技術性資料評估重點著重於(1)化學、製造與管制的資料能顯示學名藥藥品與參考藥品相同,其原料藥與製劑品質有良好控管,於不同批次之間,具有穩定的品質一致性;(2)生體相等性試驗的資料,能顯示學名藥藥品與參考藥品間具有生體相等性關係,以支持學名藥品與參考藥品有相當的療效及安全性。
      符合指示藥品基準(如:鎮咳祛痰劑、驅蟲劑、眼用製劑、鎮暈劑、一般皮膚外用劑、抗過敏劑、綜合感冒劑、胃腸製劑、瀉劑、解熱鎮痛劑)的藥品,因其所含主成分之療效與安全性已獲確認,因此主要著重於化學、製造與管制的資料能顯示藥品的製劑品質有良好的控管,且於不同批次之間,具有穩定的品質一致性。
      原料藥主檔案之技術性資料評估著重於原料藥在鑑別含量純度及與安全性相關之品質特性,以支持藥品之品質、安全與療效。

  • 上市後藥品變更登記

      藥品上市之後,若登記事項變更,應依規定申請變更許可。查驗中心協助食品藥物管理署進行已上市藥品申請變更案件中,涉及仿單、適應症、用法用量、藥品類別、製造場所、劑型、檢驗規格與方法、賦形劑、直接包裝材質等變更之技術性資料評估。
      因應不同的變更類別,審查的重點亦不同。以適應症、用法用量之變更而言,通常著重於臨床試驗資料是否足以支持所宣稱之變更。若為製程、製造場所或賦形劑變更,則著重於變更後與變更前藥品的品質是否維持不變,變更前後的藥品是否具生體相等性或體外溶離率曲線是否相似。若檢驗規格與方法變更,則主要考量變更的依據是否合理,相關改變是否仍可以確保藥品的品質控管。符合指示藥品基準之藥品的上市後變更,主要針對適應症、用法用量、包裝種類、類別、仿單內容進行審查。

  • 作業流程說明

      申請者於食品藥物管理署藥品組收發窗口送件後,由行政審查員負責行政作業及專案管理,並啟動組成審查團隊;團隊成員依案件類別可包括:化學製造管制、藥理∕毒理、藥動∕藥效、統計與臨床等專業。行政審查員根據標準作業流程召開審查團隊會議,由Team Leader主持,就案件之技術性資料進行討論,以完成審查報告及結論。審查團隊完成審查報告後,必要時得提至食品藥物化粧品審查委員會藥品諮議小組討論。最後由行政審查員彙整審查報告及委員會會議結論,進行行政呈核與裁示。